top of page

Beautifully Blindsided

I met the Lord over five years ago on January 22, 2011. That day my favorite verse became: I have chosen the way o faithfulness-Psalm 119:30. I heard other Christians say that their walk has been an adventure and I am no exception. I have had many "God things" happen to me, perhaps I will write about a few of them one day but this post is about our new beginning.

I married my husband on May 5th 2013 and we moved to Philadelphia because he got into a dream-graduate school. We packed our car and went to Philadelphia without hesitation in July 2013. We arrived with no jobs and no place to live. I started working at McDonalds after arriving and we lived on my alone salary for several months. I made less than $1000 a month. We plugged into a GREAT church in Philly. After his first summer-intensive he began working and I found a better (slightly) job. I applied to MY dream school here and was accepted! I started going to school as well to finish my teaching degree.

Bob dropped out of his program because...as it turns out...it was awful. I continued to work and go to school and he continued to work.

We heard about a mission trip at our church and I felt god PULL at my heart. I told bob "We HAVE to go!" He is the saver so of course he said "lets see if we can afford it." My husband was not saved but he agreed to go because... Guatemala is beautiful! We attended the trip for 1 week and it hit us like a train. Our lives changed FOREVER in that week. We fell in love with that place. We found "our thing." When we arrived home our finances, goals, and plans revolved around finishing school and moving there. We visited Guatemala again, for 3 weeks, in 2015. We got in even deeper. MTC is an AMAZING nonprofit that has done unbelievable with the resources they have.

We closely follow the blogs that some of the teachers have

http://tree61.blogspot.com/2016/04/to-love-is-to-be-vulnerable.html

https://marktomarcos.wordpress.com/2016/04/07/normal/

While reading these we found that the Fundacion was doing a family-style living trial. Bob and I were very excited for them and felt like WOW WE WOULD LOVE TO DO THAT. THEY ARE SO SO SO SO BLESSED! We continued to follow their posts, watching them transform into parents.

In April we received an email that we never expected. Bob got the email first and said " I think you need to read this."

We were reading it...skimming...

Good afternoon!

...In the past, the orphanage has been made up of 5 large rooms housing anywhere from 12 - 25 kids at a time.

...After much research, we are now implementing a "house-parent" model.

...I am sending you this email because as our team was brainstorming this topic, you came to my mind.

...would you prayerfully consider whether or not the Lord would you have be involved in this?

I began to cry. We get to go home to our kids... that's what this letter means. We get to go home.

We sent a Skype message, an email, and a Facebook message within 20 minutes.

Ok God, You lead, we will follow.

bottom of page