top of page

Love one another

I am reflecting today, thinking about the responsibility that we have agreed to take on. We aren't perfect, and certainly won't be perfect houseparents. We are willing to learn though and I think that is a start.

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.

John 13:34

I wonder whether or not I'll be a good parent.

I worry that I won't learn Spanish fast enough.

One thing I know for sure, though, is that it I can love those kids

... because I already do.

On this mothers day weekend:

To my mother:

Thank you for raising me.

Thank you for showing me what it is like to have a parent.

Thank you for sacrificing for me.

Thank you for showing me love.

To my great grandmother:

Thank you for teaching me to crochet and being patient for hours with me.

Thank you for letting me sit in your chair with you.

Thank you for showing me love.

To my grandmother:

Thank you for making me feel special and wanted.

Thank you for making me believe that I am capable.

Thank you for being a constant in my life when it was uncertain.

Thank you for supporting me without fail...always.

Thank you for showing me love.

To my mother-in-law

Thank you for raising the man that I love.

Thank you for welcoming me into your family.

Thank you for teaching me all of your secret recipes.

Thank you for showing me love.

My mothers have taught me many things that I hope I can bring to Guatemala with me and pass on.

bottom of page