top of page

First Week

Our first week here was a bit tough. Its hard when the kids kind-of-sort-of remember you and you kind-of-sort-of remember Huehue. (Huehuetenango is the name of the town.) We have settled in and are beginning to get the hang of living here. I wanted to wait to write a post until my emotions have settled down a little bit.

Its overwhelming when you begin to unpack and don't plan to repack any time soon.

We were invited to have Thanksgiving at Alycia's house. We had an American dinner in Guatemala. It was pretty awesome! The food was great and we began to bond with all of the other staff.

Thanksgiving was awesome, then I started thinking about Christmas.

This will be the first year in my whole life that I won't be at my grandma's house in Michigan for Christmas with my family.

I talked to my mom and we decided that we would Facebook chat a lot on Christmas.

I talked to Bob and he said we can make hot cocoa and decorate.

I talked to the other house parents and they said we can have a Christmas cookie baking party!

I think that its going to turn out just fine, even if I cried about it.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

We have moved into a small house in the back of the Fundacion. Its within the walls but in the back, a bit on its own. We have the best of both worlds. It is a great space!

It currently has no kitchen so we purchased a mini fridge and are going to have some shelves/ a cupboard put in. We will get a stove/oven in the coming months depending on finances.

We have been doing our grocery shopping at the nearby market. Its similar to a farmers market. There are small shops and in front of the shops on the street are more people selling fruits, vegetables, and other misc. things. If you know me, you know that I have been a vegetarian for 11 years. This market totally rocks. Local, Fresh fruits and vegetables in abundance...YAY!!!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

The kids are all on summer break right now so there is a lot of boredom. Lots of activities are planned to keep them busy and moving.

We went to the local Lagoon one day and went out on the water in small boats. We had fun with splashing competitions. We looked for fish, ran around, and played fetch with the dogs.

Yesterday we went to a water park with them all. Its a rare treat, and a 2.5 hour drive one way, so no wonder. The kids had SO MUCH fun. We swam and went down slides for hours, had lunch, played a bit more then came back home. We got home just in time for dinner.

We had worship night and a bomb-fire complete with a guitar. Hearing all of the kids sing is an awesome moment to be in.

I started a knitting club, unofficially. I was sitting with the kids, knitting, and they wanted to try it! Luckily I brought an extra 30 pairs of kitting needles and some crochet hooks just in case. I'm going to have to start an official knit club because some of the boys REALLY picked it up fast.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

On a different note, we will have a fundraising page launched on the Story International website next month some time. All donations made via our page will go towards our salary and will be tax deductible. We will keep everyone updated when it launches. Until then, enjoy these photos!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------


bottom of page