top of page

Transformation

Before we came I could not imagine being a full time parent. I only had a vague idea of what that would mean. Thinking back, I'm not sure how I could have come here in the first place feeling so inadequate to parent.

I imagined that I would just be stumbling in the dark for months, slowly learning the ropes. The past week I have been transformed.

I was afraid, before, that I would not know how to handle situations.

I thought that I would just be at a loss to think of what to do.

I was afraid that I might overreact or "underreact."

God knew exactly what it would take to give me confidence and he provided.

A new boy came to the Fundacion nearly 2 weeks ago.

It was unknown where he came from, they found him alone.

He is deaf and mute. He can write random letters and numbers but cannot write words.

The day he arrived we had a staff meeting and were informed of his arrival.

My hand shot up: "I'm fluent in ASL!"

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

I started researching Guatemalan Sign Language and was provided a book of basic signs.

I began working with him.

I saved photos on my Nook and used them to teach him some basic signs. I downloaded videos that taught colors, emotions, and more.

We work together every day. He gets so excited when I pull out the Nook and now knows almost 50 signs already. He does not usually initiate signing with me but a few times has asked me if I want to go swing, if he can have more food, or if he can watch the video about colors.

We have quickly bonded.

The day that I changed he had gotten in trouble. I learned about it and without hesitation I went into "mom mode." All of the other house parents were teasing me when they saw me storming across the playground. I knew just what to do. I was no longer afraid or uncertain.

His stay here is likely temporary. His family was looking for him. We learned his name is Dionicio.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

This week the whole Fund went on a trip to Xela (also known as Quetzaltenango.) We stopped and had breakfast first. The kids got to play in the lawn after breakfast and had lots of fun.

Next we drove up the side of a volcano to a park. We played and had lunch.

Its so fun to see the games that they invent.

On that note, here are 3 photos of Marlon playing with a stick.

At the park one of the little boys hurt his ankle so his house mother took him (and one other boy that was in trouble) to the doctor.

Bob and I watched her other 9 little boys at the movie we went to.

I was excited to see the Fantastic Beasts movie but unfortunately couldn't catch much of it. It wasn't because of the Spanish, it may have had something to do with the 9 small children in my row.

After the movie I thought about the time I took my little brother to see a movie. I thought it was so frustrating at the time. I laughed and laughed about it.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yesterday we watched the little boys again while their house mother went Christmas shopping. Bob and I made soup and biscuit-dumplings with all 11 little boys. They cut vegetables with butter knives and rolled tiny biscuits for nearly 2 hours.

Every time they made one biscuit they held it up for Bob to inspect the size.

Bob kept saying "you don't need to ask for every one!"

They would respond "OK!"

Then hold up the next one for inspection.

It was hilarious

Afterwards they even ate the vegetable soup! Zucchini, broccoli, carrots, peas, onion, parsley and all!

It was a good trial run... because we are watching them for 2 weeks while their house mom goes to the states for Christmas.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our fundraising page with Story International has launched!

Check it out HERE

All donations made here are fully tax deductible and 100% go towards making sure we can survive here.

Currently we are hoping to raise enough to go to Spanish School. It will cost us $330 a week on top of our normal expences.

bottom of page